Are Donuts Vegan?

Donuts are a hugely popular snack around the world, but no more so than in the United States.

Plastered over billboards, TV adverts, movies, and TV shows, donuts seem to be everywhere.

Are Donuts Vegan?

But, although popular, they may not be suitable for vegans. Or are they? Read on to find out!

Well, we have some good news for vegans – some donuts are considered vegan – the bad news, though, is that there are not many in this category.

On the whole, many donuts have animal-derived ingredients that slyly sneak into the dough during the preparation process.

In many donut cases, the filling and toppings also contain animal derivatives, meaning they are certainly not vegan-friendly. 

Today, we are going to enter the world of donuts and find out what donuts are vegan and which ones you should avoid.

So, don’t go away just yet thinking that all donuts are not vegan because we will help you find some vegan-friendly donut delights that you can try today!

So, Are Traditional Donuts Vegan?

The answer to whether standard donuts are vegan or not seems pretty straightforward, right?

The fact that traditional donut batter includes eggs gives us a stern “no.”

But, some donut stores have started to introduce vegan ranges to their menus, meaning that a small selection is vegan after all.

But, for now, let’s focus on traditional donuts.

If you’re vegan and fancy a sumptuous donut with all the trimmings, we’re afraid we have some bad news.

Donuts in their traditional sense are not vegan. But, what do we mean by “traditional?” Well, we are referring to donuts that are typically sold on hot donut stands and in stores.

If they’re not labeled as being suitable for vegetarians or vegans, then, they are certainly not vegan.

The reason traditional donuts are not vegan all comes down to their ingredients. Here is a typical list of ingredients for a traditional donut:

  • Sugar
  • Salt
  • All-purpose flour
  • Butter 
  • Baking powder
  • Eggs
  • Milk
  • Cooking oil 

As you can see, donuts contain a lot of animal products, such as butter, eggs, and milk.

So, if you’re looking for a vegan snack, you better head elsewhere. 

It’s not all doom and gloom, however. With the rise of veganism over the last few decades, vegan substitutes have been introduced.

Therefore, ingredients such as eggs and dairy can be substituted for something vegan-friendly.

Whilst the traditional donut should be avoided by vegans, there are donuts out there that taste very similar but, of course, have vegan-friendly ingredients.

If you’re making donuts yourself, all it takes is some ingenuity in the kitchen and you will end up with vegan donuts!

Egg Substitutes

One of the main ingredients in donuts is eggs.

For traditional donuts, the eggs are responsible for supplying the batter with an aerated texture, helping it stick together and form that iconic donut sphere. 

Of course, vegans can not use eggs. Therefore, specialized eggs have been introduced to take the place of real eggs. 

Below are some vegan egg substitutes for you to try in your vegan donuts:

  • Mashed banana
  • Vegan egg replacers
  • Baking soda
  • Tofu
  • Soy yogurt
  • Nut butter 

Dairy Substitutes

You can also swap out the dairy in traditional donuts for vegan-friendly ingredients.

Instead of using milk and butter, two key components in the making of traditional donuts, you can use the following to soften the donut’s texture and add moisture to it:

  • Rice milk
  • Coconut milk
  • Soy milk
  • Almond milk
  • Wheat milk
  • Flora margarine
  • Flora plant butter
  • Organic vegan butter 

Just by changing the ingredients, you can get as close to a traditional donut as possible, whilst keeping it vegan.

With the right ingredients, your donuts may end up being the tastiest you have ever eaten!

Donut Fillings: Are They Vegan?

Are Donuts Vegan?

When it comes to donut fillings, the choice is seemingly endless.

But, as it has been for decades, the most favored fillings are jam and custard. Jam is typically vegan, whilst custard usually isn’t.

However, there are exceptions to these rules as jam can sometimes contain gelatin, and custard can be made without eggs, milk, or cream. 

From cream to chocolate and apples to peanut butter, you can take your pick for donut fillings.

There are vegan chocolate options, as well as non-dairy, vegan creams available.

And, of course, fruits, like apples, are vegan-friendly and help to add a little spark of healthiness to your otherwise unhealthy donut. 

If you’re buying donuts from a store or donut stand, check the ingredients very carefully to ensure they are vegan.

You may have the chance to ask the baker in the bakery, too. Typically, milk and milk-derived products will be clearly marked as such because they are considered potential allergens.

But, in some cases, they may not be labeled clearly, so always be on the lookout.

Donut Toppings: Are They Vegan?

Donuts can be topped with as many ingredients, if not more, as their fillings counterparts.

In most cases, some form of icing is usually used as a topping. This can be made using just water and sugar, making it vegan-friendly.

However, on occasions, even the sugar may not be vegan so you need to double-check this first, too. 

Even if a donut is coated with a light dusting of icing, it may have been made with butter or gelatin.

Again, you should find out more about the ingredients by asking the manufacturer or reading the packaging carefully.  

If your donut comes with dark chocolate, it is more likely to be vegan friendly than milk chocolate. But, again, some may not be.

Simply check the ingredients thoroughly to ensure your donuts are suitable for your vegan diet. 

In Summary

It’s common knowledge that donuts are unhealthy with their high fat and sugar content.

But, let’s be honest – they are super tasty!

And, the good news is that there are vegan-friendly donuts on the market today but they are much harder to come across than traditional donuts made with eggs, milk, and butter. 

We hope you find some vegan donuts and enjoy the treat you deserve!

Kimberly Kidd
Latest posts by Kimberly Kidd (see all)