Are Pancakes Vegan?

Traditional American fare often includes pancakes.

If these fluffy piles of delight that are heaped high and served with syrup, butter, and all of your favorite toppings were absent from breakfast and brunch, the meals simply would not be complete. 

Are Pancakes Vegan?

While you’ve undoubtedly been having pancakes for breakfast for as long as you can remember, these jolly little fellows have been around for thousands of years!

In this essay, we will investigate the history of one of our most beloved breakfast staples, as well as the common question. Are pancakes vegan?

Where Did They Come From?

Pancakes have been a traditional food in several different countries for several millennia.

Experts (experts on pancakes?) say that humanity was enjoying pancakes as long ago as 30,000 years ago, while they were still living in the Stone Age.

Researchers discovered pancakes in the stomach of Tzi the Iceman, who is famed for being human remains that date back more than 5,000 years! That is rather revolting.

Pancakes were traditionally prepared in ancient Greece and Rome by combining wheat flour, honey, curdled milk, and olive oil.

Cratinus and Magnes, two of the most famous poets of ancient Greece, both included references to pancakes in their works.

Shakespeare even refers to them in some of his most renowned works. Pancakes were commonly seasoned with a variety of herbs and spices, as well as rosewater, sherry, and apples, throughout the English Renaissance.

Why Are Most Pancakes Not Vegan?

The pancake is a practically global staple dish that almost invariably incorporates items derived from animals. These cakes are made from starch and have a flat, round shape.

They are cooked on a hot surface. Pancakes often require milk or water as their liquid ingredient because they are created from a batter rather than a more dense dough.

Some varieties of pancakes are leavened, which means that they include components like baking powder and eggs that are responsible for imparting light and airy quality to the finished product.

In other kinds, the leavening chemicals are not included at all. There is also the option of frying pancakes in animal fats such as butter or lard (a pork by-product).

Cheeses, meats, and creams are only some examples of the kinds of animal products that can be found in toppings.

Because eggs and dairy products are typically used in the preparation of pancakes, they do not conform to the dietary requirements of vegans.

There are more than one hundred different kinds of pancakes in the world, but only a small handful are vegan-friendly consistently.

The name “buttermilk,” which refers to a fermented kind of animal milk, gives away the fact that this type of pancake is not vegan.

Buttermilk pancakes are among the most popular non-vegan pancake varieties. However, in the vast majority of cases, eggs and dairy products are simply listed on the ingredient label alongside wheat or other grains.

This is the case with the majority of pancakes served in restaurants as well as the majority of pancakes sold in grocery shops, both ready-made and in mixed form.

When Are Pancakes Vegan?

When Are Pancakes Vegan?

You can find plant-based options for any kind of pancake you consume, whether it’s a flapjack, a griddlecake, or a hotcake, by eating at restaurants that specialize in serving vegan customers or by cooking your own.

Because the recipes for handmade pancakes are typically straightforward, it is typically not difficult to get results that are comparable by substituting animal products like eggs and milk with plant-based substitutes.

Both Bisquick, a household name in the world of breakfast foods, and Bob’s Red Mill, a household name in the world of natural foods, provide vegan pancake mixes that require only non-dairy milk or water to start the baking process.

If you explore beyond the typical cuisine of the United States and Europe, you will find a few different kinds of pancakes, most of which are made from plants.

There are several kinds of pancakes that originated in Asia and Africa, and most of them may be made vegan-friendly.

Types Of Non-Vegan Pancakes

Pancakes that are not vegan typically contain an ingredient derived from dairy products or use eggs as a binder and leavening agent.

These pancake recipes, some of which include ingredients derived from animals, are generally reliable.


What Are Some Vegan Substitutes For Common Ingredients In Pancakes?

There are many vegan substitutes for common ingredients in pancakes. Some of the most popular include soymilk, almond milk, bananas, peanut butter, ripened (ripened), wheat germ oil, or seed oils.

Regarding substituting eggs in particular, Vital Proteins offers a great range of healthy egg replacer options that can be found at most health food stores.

These include chia seed gelcaps, ground flaxseeds, or hemp seeds, as well as banana-based powder mixes.

Many people also enjoy making their versions of pancake mix by adding these types of replacements along with other favorite herbs and spices.

Do You Think That Vegan Pancakes Taste Better Than Regular Pancakes?

There is no definitive answer to this question since vegan pancakes can be made with a variety of different ingredients and flavors.

Some people believe that vegan pancakes are healthier because they don’t contain any animal products, while others simply enjoy the different flavor profiles that vegan pancakes offer.

Ultimately, it’s up to each individual whether or not they think vegan pancakes taste better than regular pancakes.


One of the most well-liked and traditional items for breakfast in our culture is pancakes. These delightfully fluffy mounds have been around for thousands upon thousands of years.

In the stomach of Tzi the Iceman, who is famous for being human remains that date back more than 5,000 years, researchers found pancakes.

Tie the Iceman is famous for his human remains. Typical non-vegan pancakes either use a substance derived from dairy products or use eggs as a binder and leavening agent.

Vegan pancakes do not contain either of these ingredients.

There are more than a hundred distinct varieties of pancakes around the globe, but only a select few can be reliably consumed by vegans due to the presence of animal products in their ingredients.

Kimberly Kidd
Latest posts by Kimberly Kidd (see all)